This is the "Administration of Justice" page of the "Administration of Justice " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Administration of Justice   Tags: subject guides  

Find books, articles, and other resources useful for researching the topic of justice administration or criminology.
Last Updated: Mar 23, 2016 URL: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/administrationofjustice Print Guide RSS Updates
Administration of Justice Print Page
  Search: 
 

Searching the Library

Use These Keywords to Search in the Library Catalog:

Criminology

Crime

Juvenile Delinquency

Prison

Police

Corrections

Prisoners

Look for These Call Numbers on the Library Shelves:

HV 6001-7220.5: Criminology

HV 7231- 9920.5: Administrarion of Criminal Justice

K 85- 89: Legal Research

K 100-103: Legal Education

K 201-487: Jurisprudence

K 300-304: Classification of Law

K 3400-3431: Administrative Law

K 3402-3417: The Administrative Process

K 5000- 5582: Criminal Law and Procedure

 

  • RCC Library's Quicksearch
    Use this link to quickly search the library's printed and online resources. Printed books, ebooks, audiobooks, streaming videos and more are available!
 

Guide Credit

Guide originially created by Glenns Library Assistant: Natalie Browning, MLS.

Updated by Glenns Library Assistant Carrie Dos Santos, MIS.

 

Program Description

Administration of Justice encompasses the career fields of law enforcement, corrections, and private security. The Associate of Applied Science degree is designed to meet both the academic and the technical needs of those employed in the field of Administration of Justice. This two-year program will provide knowledge and skills for the beginning employee as well as the more experienced employee desiring career advancement. After taking the required general education and major classes, students may select up to twelve credits of electives in law enforcement, corrections, and private security.

Law enforcement and correctional officers who have completed studies at formal training academies may receive advanced standing credit for training experiences that are equivalent to RCC’s administration of justice courses. Students must contact the academic advisor for evaluation of training experiences.

morguefile free photo: http://mrg.bz/DM9y0o

Courses Include:

ADJ 100: Survey of Criminal Justice

ADJ 227: Constitutional Law

ADJ 236: Principles of Criminal Investigation

See Course Catalog for full list of courses.

Databases to Get Started

  • Code of Virginia
    Searchable database offered by the Virginia General Assembly as a service to the public.
  • Criminal Justice eBook Collection  Icon  Icon
    Access to 15 criminal justice reference books. (Gale)
  • Criminal Justice eJournal Collection  Icon  Icon
    Access to 86 e-journals with articles covering law and public affairs. (Gale)
  • Legal Collection
    Provides information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, and the environment. The collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications includes law journals, documents, and case studies. (EBSCOhost)
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
    (VIVA) Provides thousands of summaries of important law enforcement and criminal justice publications including books, government reports, research reports, journals and unpublished research. Content dates range from 1970 to the present.
  • Public Administration Abstracts
    Providing up-to-date bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, administration and economy, administration and politics, administration and society, administrative structures and organization, public and social services, public service personnel and theory and methods. (EBSCOhost)
  • Urban Studies Abstracts
    Including bibliographic records covering essential areas related to the study of cities and regions, this database explores such topics as urban affairs, community development, urban history and other subjects of key relevance to the discipline. (EBSCOhost)
  • Violence & Abuse Abstracts
    This database includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. (EBSCOhost)

Internet Resources

When selecting Internet resources it is important to evaluate the quality of any websites that you use. See the Student Development (SDV) Research Guide for instructions on evaluating websites.

  • Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services
    The Virginia Department of Criminal Justice Services, Division of Law Enforcement has multi-faceted responsibilities including oversight and management of training standards and regulations for the criminal justice community, training programs in public safety and homeland security, the Crime Prevention and Accreditation Programs and the development of law enforcement policies.
  • SCOTUSblog
    The official blog site for the Supreme Court of the United States
  • Harvard Law School Library Research Guides
    Harvard Law has developed a series of research guides covering a vast array of topics concerning domestic law and law abroad.
  • American Law Sources On-line (ALSO!)
    Provides comprehensive coverage of law in the United States, Mexico, and Canada. Use ALSO to read state charters, constitutions, and other legal documents. Find links to relevant periodicals, legal forms, bar information, etc.
  • Guide to Law Online
    Powered by the Library of Congress find reliable information both domestic and foreign law as well as links to reliable sites for further information.
  • Social Text
    A Journal from the Duke University Press that covers a broad range of social questions including gender, sexuality, and cultural theory.

Glenns Campus 12745 College Drive Glenns, VA 23149

Warsaw Campus 52 Campus Drive Warsaw, VA 22572

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip