This is the "Biology" page of the "Biology " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biology   Tags: subject guides  

Find books, articles, images, and other resources pertinent in research on the topic of Biology
Last Updated: Oct 3, 2016 URL: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/biology Print Guide RSS Updates
Biology Print Page
  Search: 
 

Searching the Library

Use These Topics to Search in the Library Catalog:

biology

[type of biology]

[biological terms]

[name of biologist]

Look for These Call Numbers on the Library Shelves:

QH: Biology (General), including Genetics

QK: Botany

QL: Zoology

QM: Human Anatomy

QP: Physiology

QR: Microbiology

 

  • RCC Library's Quicksearch
    Use this link to quickly search the library's printed and online resources. Printed books, ebooks, audiobooks, streaming videos and more are available!
 

Guide Credit

Guide originially created by Glenns Library Assistant: Natalie Browning, MLS.

Updated by Glenns Library Assistant Carrie Dos Santos, MIS.

 

Description

Biology:

 the study of living organisms, divided into many specialized fields that cover their morphology, physiology, anatomy, behavior, origin, and distribution.

  • the organisms of a particular area.

            "the biology of Chesapeake Bay"

  • the physiology, behavior, and other qualities of a particular organism or class of organisms.

              "human biology"

photo credit: Pansa from FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Courses Include:

General Biology, Human Anatomy & Physiology, General Microbiology, General Genetics & Coastal Ecology

See Course Catalog for full list of Biology courses.

Databases to get Started

Check out all of our eResources on our eResources A to Z Lib Guide: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/az2016

  • Biological Science Collection  Icon  Icon
    This database contains over 750 full-text journals in the biological sciences, with coverage from 1982 to the present. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. (ProQuest)
  • BioOne Complete  Icon
    BioOne Complete is BioOne's aggregation of more than 190 high quality, subscribed and open-access titles focused in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
  • Biomedical Reviews
    Annual Reviews (VIVA, Full Text) Search for articles on topics like food science, genetics, nutrition, neuroscience, and more.
  • Journal of Cell Biology
    (VIVA) The Journal of Cell Biology is an international peer-reviewed journal owned by The Rockefeller University. The discipline of cell biology emerged and developed on the pages of the JCB. Many seminal discoveries have been published in the journal, including the first descriptions of numerous cellular functions and structures. (Highwire Press)
  • Molecular Biology of the Cell
    (VIVA) MBoC is an online journal that publishes research articles and essays that report the results of original research and present conceptual advances of broad interest and significance within all areas of cell biology, genetics, and developmental biology. Publication of the American Society for Cell Biology. (Highwire Press)
  • Becoming Human
    Institute of Human Origins (VIVA) Learn more about the “human career” how we’ve come to be as we are, and where we’ve been as a species.
  • Nature
    Provides access to the full text of this scholarly journal from 1960 - present. (Nature Publishing Group)
  • Aquatic Science Collection  Icon  Icon
    This database contains over 370 full-text journals in the aquatic sciences, with coverage from 1960 to the present. (ProQuest)
  • Oceanic Abstracts  
      
    Focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. The journal is recognized as a leading source of information on topics relating to the oceans, fisheries, aqua culture, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. (ProQuest)
  • Plant Science  
      
    Bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, and environmental biology. Over 250 primary research journals are scanned. Informative abstracts have been added, when available, from July 1996­present. (ProQuest)

Internet Resources

  • BioGalleries
    Photo galleries of pond-water microorganisms, and photos of classic organisms in biology.
  • Connecting Concepts: Interactive Lessons in Biology
    University of Wisconsin's series of interactive web-based lessons designed to give introductory undergraduate biology students opportunities to connect biology concepts.
  • Through the Virtual Cell: A Guided Flythrough
    We invite you to explore our virtual cell and the processes contained within it by taking our guided virtual tour. Through North Dakota State University.
  • National Human Genome Research Institute
    A part of the National Institute of Health, the National Human Genome Research Institute has many educational resources about genetics. Click on the "Education" tab and the "Issues in Genetics" tab to learn more.
  • DNA Interactive
    A comprehensive source for learning all things about DNA, and the happenings in the field of genetics.
  • National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project
    Provides a list of collaborative educational tools using the data generated by the Visible Human Project of the human anatomy.
  • Virginia Institute of Marine Science
    VIMS, located in Gloucester, Virginia, has a three-part mission to conduct interdisciplinary research in coastal ocean and estuarine science, educate students and citizens, and provide advisory service to policy makers, industry, and the public.

Glenns Campus 12745 College Drive Glenns, VA 23149

Warsaw Campus 52 Campus Drive Warsaw, VA 22572

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip