This is the "Business and Economics" page of the "Business and Economics 2016" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Business and Economics 2016   Tags: subject guides  

Last Updated: Mar 28, 2016 URL: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/businessandecon Print Guide RSS Updates
Business and Economics Print Page
  Search: 
 

Searching the Library

Use These Topics to Search in the Library Catalog:

company names

executive names

product names

industry names

types of business

business terms

economic terms

Look for These Call Numbers on the Library Shelves:

HB: General Economics

HC: History of Economics and Regional Economics

HD: Management

HF: Business Ethics, Marketing

HG: Economics, Finance, and Accounting

HJ: Economics, Public Finance, Taxation, and Accounting

      
     

    Guide Credit

    Guide originially created by Glenns Library Assistant: Natalie Browning, MLS.

    Updated by Glenns Library Assistant Carrie Dos Santos, MIS.

     

    Program Description

    Photo Credit: http://www.tutor2u.net/blog/files/recession_headlines.jpg

    Degree Programs:

    Associate of Arts and Sciences Transfer Degree: Business Administration Specialization
    The Associate of Arts and Sciences Transfer Degree: Business Administration Specialization program, is designed for persons who plan to transfer to a four-year college or university to complete a baccalaureate degree in a business-related field such as Business Administration or Accounting.

    Associate of Applied Science Degree: Business Management
    The Business Management program is designed to meet the needs of recent high school graduates as well as experienced employees who want to upgrade or supplement their existing business knowledge and skills, or to acquire new ones.

    Courses Include:

    BUS 100 Introduction to Business

    BUS 111 Principles of Supervision

    BUS 117 Human Relations & Leadership Development

    BUS 125 Applied Business Mathematics

    BUS 200 Principles of Management

    BUS 201 Organizational Behavior

    BUS 205 Human Resource Management

    BUS 236 Communication in Management

    BUS 240 Introducation to Business Law

    BUS 265 Ethical Issues in Management

    BUS 270 Interpersonal Dynamics in Business Organizations

    ECO 100 Elements of Economics

    ECO 120 Survey of Economics

    ECO 201 Principles of Economics I

    ECO 202 Principles of Economics II

    See Course Catalog for full list of courses.

    Databases to Get Started

    • Business Collection
      (RCC) (Gale Group) Select the database from the listed resources.
    • Business Source Complete
      Includes full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
    • Materials Business File  
        
      Focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries. Citations for this database are pulled from over 2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books indexed by the editors of Materials Information. (ProQuest)
    • EconLit with Full Text
      (VIVA) This database contains all of the indexing available in EconLit in addition to full text for hundreds of journals including the
      American Economic Association journals with no embargo (American Economic Review, Journal of Economic Literature, and Journal of Economic Perspectives). This database also contains many non-English full-text journals in economics & finance and volume and issue browsing is available for all full-text journals. (EBSCO)
    • Mergent Horizon
      Formerly Moody's, this database provides "seamless capabilities for finding, filtering and organizing information about companies and industries."
    • Mergent Intellect
      (VIVA) Mergent Intellect provides extensive information about private companies, both active and inactive. It is on a separate platform from Mergent Online.
    • Mergent Online
      Information on over 35,000 publicly traded companies -- approximately 12,000 domestic public companies, 24,000 international public companies, and 10,000 extinct (due to merger, acquisition, bankruptcy, etc) global public companies. Includes company histories and over 200,000 annual reports in PDF, as well as 30 years of stock prices and more.
    • Factiva
      With a business focus, Factiva is a product of Dow Jones that offers full text access to over 10,000 magazine, journals, leading local, national and international newspapers and news wires. It provides in-depth research on a company, industry or marketplace. In addition, about 3,000 images are added daily. Richmond Times Dispatch is covered from 1989. (Dow Jones & Company, Inc.) Not available to off-campus users.
    • Regional Business News
      Provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and news wires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. (EBSCOhost)

    Internet Resources

    When selecting Internet resources it is important to evaluate the quality of any websites that you use. See the Student Development (SDV) Research Guide for instructions on evaluating websites.

    Glenns Campus 12745 College Drive Glenns, VA 23149

    Warsaw Campus 52 Campus Drive Warsaw, VA 22572

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip