Find books, articles, quotes and other informational resources relevant to research in communication studies.
Last Updated: Apr 12, 2016
Use These Keywords to Search in the Library Catalog:
[Individual speaker's name]
Look for These Call Numbers on the Library Shelves:
PN 4130-4195: Addresses
PN 6121-6122: Orations
PS 660-668: American Speeches
- RCC Library's Quicksearch
Use this link to quickly search the library's printed and online resources. Printed books, ebooks, audiobooks, streaming videos and more are available!
Guide originially created by Glenns Library Assistant: Natalie Browning, MLS.
Updated by Glenns Library Assistant Carrie Dos Santos, MIS.
Microphone by Circe Denyer, http://www.publicdomainpictures.net/view-image.php?image=148775&picture=microphone
Communication Studies: an academic field that deals with processes of human communication, commonly defined as the sharing of symbols to create meaning. The discipline encompasses a range of topics, from face-to-face conversation to mass media outlets such as television broadcasting. Communication studies also examines how messages are interpreted through the political, cultural, economic, semiotic, hermeneutic, and social dimensions of their contexts.
Principles of Public Speaking; Introduction to Speech Communication; Intercultural Communication
Check out all of our eResources on our eResources A to Z Lib Guide: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/az2016
- Communication & Mass Media Complete
Incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 440 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 640 titles.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of the latest developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. Abstracts are drawn from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide complemented with coverage of recent books, occasional papers, monographs, technical reports, and dissertations. (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
- CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues 1923-present, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. (CQPress)
Data.gov is the home of the US government’s open data. Here you will find over 85,000 datasets as well as the tools and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
- Facts on File - Issues and Controversies
Presents and enhances the full backfile of Issues and Controversies On File, which has probed about 600 controversial topics in the news since its debut in September 1995. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events.
(VIVA) EBSCO’s Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO, so users can enjoy the previous 30 days of news relating to their search interests. (EBSCO)
When selecting Internet resources it is important to evaluate the quality of any websites that you use. See the Student Development (SDV) Research Guide for instructions on evaluating websites.
- Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
A Collection of Passages, Phrases, and Proverbs Traced to Their Sources in Ancient and Modern Literature
Quotations on every topic, by every author...
- Cooper Center (UVA)
The University of Virginia's Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service is a research and training organization focused on the Commonwealth of Virginia. The Center provides objective information, data, applied research, technical assistance, and practical training to state and local officials, community leaders, and members of the general public. This is a good source to research speech topics.
- The Condition of Education
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. This is a good source for researching speech topics.
- Virginia Department of Education Statistics and Reports
VDOE reports a variety of data on public education in the commonwealth, including information on enrollment, demographics, student achievement, finances and safety.