A guide to finding eBooks in the RCC library and on the web
Last Updated: Oct 29, 2015
eBook: an electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.
Guide originially created by Glenns Library Assistant: Natalie Browning, MLS.
Updated by Glenns Library Assistant Carrie Dos Santos, MIS.
The RCC Library offers these great databases for searching, reading, and downloading ebooks.
- eBook Library
E-books from premier publishers in the STEM-H (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Health) fields. Access is provided through the VIVA Demand-Driven Acquisitions (DDA) pilot program. (EBL)
- ebrary Physical Sciences eBook Collection
This collection offers 4,500 full-text e-books in the physical sciences. (ProQuest)
- EBSCO eBook Collection
EBSCO’s extensive collection of more than 265,000 eBook titles is now integrated on EBSCOhost. Answers to Frequently Asked Questions
provided by EBSCOHost.
CRC Press is one of the world's leading publishers of engineering handbooks. Now the handbooks are available online. ENGnet BASE combines more than 160 top resources into one powerful research tool. (CRC Press)
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research (Gale)
- OVID - Nursing eBooks
Full-text collection of 15 nursing, pharmacology, and clinical medicine e-books published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
- Oxford Reference Online Premium
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford, including titles in Oxford Companions Series. All books are cross-searchable. (Oxford University Press)
contains full books and chapters from APA books, classic books published by others, and the full electronic release of the Encyclopedia of Psychology published by APA and Oxford University Press. New books are added each month. For a list of books, please see the coverage list
- Safari Books Online
A collection of over 9800 electronic books covering a wide variety of technology and business topics including: certification practice exams, databases, desktop applications, e-business, graphics, hardware, Internet, IT management, markup languages, multimedia, networking, operating systems, programming, security, software engineering, web development, Windows, and much more. (ProQuest)
- ScienceDirect eBooks
The ScienceDirect 2013 e-book collection offers the latest titles in science, technology, engineering, math, and key health science disciplines. (Elsevier)
- Scribner Writers Online
Scribner Writers Online offers over 2,000 original and detailed bio-critical essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world. Each cross-referenced entry includes a concise essay, a citation, and biographical information that places the author's work in personal and historical context. (Gale)
- Springer Science eBooks
E-books on behavioral sciences, biomedical and life science, computer science, and earth and environmental science topics. (Springer)
- Twayne’s Authors Online
The acclaimed Twayne's Authors Series of literary criticism offers in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres. This online series features the content of more than 600 books that comprise three print series --United States Authors, English Authors and World Authors. (Gale)
Prefer to listen to books instead of reading them? Set up an Overdrive account and download the audio.
- Overdrive Digital Media Collection
A digital media collection containing fiction and non-fiction audiobooks, videos, and music that can be downloaded on your home computer, a compatible portable device, or burned to a CD.
Most databases* allow unlimited concurrent users.
EBSCO ebook Collection allows ONE user at a time.
Overdrive Digital Media Collection allows ONE user at a time.
Safari Books Online allows 52 concurrent database users.