This is the "Culinary Arts" page of the "Culinary Arts " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Culinary Arts   Tags: subject guides  

A guide for RCC's Culinary Arts classes
Last Updated: Apr 13, 2016 URL: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/culinaryarts Print Guide RSS Updates
Culinary Arts Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Terms

Look for these call numbers on the library shelves:

  • TX341-641  Nutrition, Foods and Food Supply
  • TX643-840  Cookery; Cookbooks
  • TX901-953 Food Service
  • HD9000-9490  Food Service Industry (economics)

 

Search for these terms in the catalog or on the web:

  • Food Preparation
  • Cook/ Cooking
  • Culinary Arts
  • Country or Region name and (cuisine OR cuisines OR recipe OR recipes);Example: (Korea OR Korean) AND (cuisine OR cuisines OR recipe OR recipes)

 

  • RCC Library's Quicksearch
    Use this link to quickly search the library's printed and online resources. Printed books, ebooks, audiobooks, streaming videos and more are available!
 

Culinary Arts

Photo Credit: Instagram @rappahannockcc

 

Program Description

Purpose:

 There is continued demand for qualified cooks and food service managers within the restaurant industry, one of the major employers in the College’s service region. This program will give students technical education in culinary arts and food service management, which will prepare them to be competent and confident professionals ready to enter and be successful in the industry.

Possible Occupations:

Broiler Cook, Fry/Sauté Cook, Pantry Cook, Soup and Sauce Cook, Vegetable Cook, Lead Line Cook, Assistant Baker, Assistant Kitchen Manager, and Assistant Dining Room Manager

Two Programs:

Culinary Arts Career Studies Certificate

Advanced Culinary Arts Career Studies Certificate

Databases To Get You Started

Check out all of our eResources on our eResources A to Z Lib Guide: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/az2016

  • Agricultural Science Collection  Icon  Icon
    This database contains over 550 full-text journals in the agricultural sciences with coverage from 1970 to the present. (ProQuest)
  • Associates Program Source
    Designed specifically for junior & community colleges with a primary focus on disciplines of study within associate degrees and certification programs. Areas explored include accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding. Updated weekly. (EBSCOhost)
  • Hospitality & Tourism Complete
    Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. This collection contains more than 721,000 records, with coverage dating as far back as 1965. There is full text for more than 360 publications. (EBSCOHost)

On the Web

 

Guide Credit

Guide originially created by Glenns Library Assistant: Natalie Browning, MLS.

Updated by Glenns Library Assistant Carrie Dos Santos, MIS.

Glenns Campus 12745 College Drive Glenns, VA 23149

Warsaw Campus 52 Campus Drive Warsaw, VA 22572

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip