This is the "English 111" page of the "English 111" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English 111   Tags: course guides  

A guide to help you succeed in your RCC English 111 course.
Last Updated: Sep 22, 2016 URL: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/english111 Print Guide RSS Updates
English 111 Print Page
  Search: 
 

Searching the Library

Use These Topics to Search in the Library Catalog:

writing

grammar

literature

English

[author's name]

Look for These Call Numbers on the Library Shelves:

Class P: Language and Literature

PE: English Language

PN: Literature (General)

PR: English Literature

PS: American Literature

PZ: Fiction and Juvenille Belles Lettres

  • RCC Library's Quicksearch
    Use this link to quickly search the library's printed and online resources. Printed books, ebooks, audiobooks, streaming videos and more are available!
  • Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
    Database contains the entire text of the 22-volume OED 2nd edition with supplements prepared throughout this century. In addition to containing the definitions for most of the words in the English language, the OED also provides information on word origins and quotations showing the history of a word's meanings. (Oxford University Press)
 

Course Description

ENG 111: College Composition I


Introduces students to critical thinking and the fundamentals of academic writing. Through the writing process, students refine topics: develop and support ideas; investigate, evaluate, and incorporate appropriate resources; edit for effective style and usage; and determine appropriate approaches for a variety of contexts, audiences, and purposes. Writing activities will include exposition and argumentation with at least one researched essay.

Photo Credit: http://bit.ly/1kbkVhC

See Course Catalog for more information.

Databases

Check out all of our eResources on our eResources A to Z Lib Guide: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/az2016

  • Academic Search Complete  Icon
    (VIVA, Full Text) Comprehensive scholarly multi-disciplinary database.
  • MasterFILE Premier
    Multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,019 biographies, 105,787 full text primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags. (EBSCOhost)
  • CQ Researcher  Icon
    CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues 1923-present, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. (CQPress)
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context  Icon
    Draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale & Macmillan Reference USA sources. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to web sites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. (Gale)
  • Facts on File - Issues and Controversies
    Presents and enhances the full backfile of Issues and Controversies On File, which has probed about 600 controversial topics in the news since its debut in September 1995. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research (Gale)
  • eBook Library Multi-disciplinary Collection
    (VCCS) Access to this academic e-book collection is provided by the current VCCS demand-driven acquisitions (DDA) program. Ebook Library offers concurrent access (multiple people reading the same title at the same time), read aloud for all titles, browsing before borrowing, and a download option for offline access. (EBL)
  • eBooks from EBSCOhost
    – (VCCS) Electronic book and eAudiobook collection.
  • Artemis Literary Sources  Icon  Icon
    Artemis searches Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Online, and Twayne’s Authors Online. (Gale)
  • Bartlett's Familiar Quotations  Icon
    This tenth edition of 1919 contains over 11,000 searchable quotations and was the first new edition of John Bartlett’s corpus to be published after his death in 1905—the new editor, however, choosing more to supplement than revise the work of the first name in quotations.

Internet Resources

When selecting Internet resources it is important to evaluate the quality of any websites that you use. See the Student Development (SDV) Research Guide for instructions on evaluating websites.

  • ProCon.org
    Nonpartisan, nonprofit, 501(c)(3) public benefit corporation whose purpose is to inform the public about controversial issues using facts, news, and hundreds of diverse opinions in a pro-con format.
  • Public Agenda
    Nonpartisan and nonprofit, unbiased research on current topics.
  • Style for Students Online
    From Penn State University, this ebook "Effective Technical Writing in the Information Age" provides guidance in style, grammar, credible sources, and the documents a student can expect to write during his or her academic career.
 

Guide Credit

Guide originially created by Glenns Library Assistant: Natalie Browning, MLS.

Updated by Glenns Library Assistant Carrie Dos Santos, MIS.

Glenns Campus 12745 College Drive Glenns, VA 23149

Warsaw Campus 52 Campus Drive Warsaw, VA 22572

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip