This is the "Welcome to ITE" page of the "ITE " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ITE   Tags: course guides  

A guide to assist in finding books, articles, and other materials relevant to RCC’s ITE courses.
Last Updated: Oct 29, 2015 URL: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/ite Print Guide RSS Updates
Welcome to ITE Print Page
  Search: 
 

Searching the Library

Use These Topics to Search in the Library Catalog:

word processing

names of specific products

names of specific companies

names of specific programs

names of specific databases 

Look for These Call Numbers on the Library Shelves:

HF5548: User Guides for Computer Programs  (using Word; Microsoft Office Suite; Excel)

QA76: Computer Programs and Information Technology (Java-script, Vista, Windows)

TK5105: Internet  (Web design)

 

  • RCC Library Classic Catalog
    Use keywords to search for books in the RCC Library Catalog.
    Book not available at your campus?- You can request that it be transferred. Ask the librarian for details.
 

Guide Credit

Guide originially created by Glenns Library Assistant: Natalie Browning, MLS.

Updated by Glenns Library Assistant Carrie Dos Santos, MIS.

 

Course Description

ITE 100: Intro to Information Systems

Covers the fundamentals of computers and computing and topics which include impact of computers on society, ethical issues, and terminology. This course provides discussion about available hardware and software as well as their application. Lecture 3 hours per week. Laboratory 0-2 hours per week. Total 3-5 hours per week.

 

Photo Credit: http://bit.ly/1HbZpib

Other ITE classes at RCC include topics:

Introduction to Microcomputers, Into to Computer Applications and Concepts, Information Literacy,  Microcomputer Software: Beginning Windows, Intro to Internet Services, Spreadsheet Software, and Help Desk Support Skills.

See Course Catalog for full list of ITE courses.

 

Databases

  • ACM Digital Library
    Offers nearly 9,000 full-text articles from the journals, magazines, and conference proceedings, since 1991, of the Association for Computing Machinery, the world's oldest and largest educational and scientific computing society.
  • Associates Program Source
    Designed specifically for junior & community colleges with a primary focus on disciplines of study within associate degrees and certification programs. Areas explored include accounting, agricultural sciences, child care services, cosmetology, culinary arts, forestry, food service management, graphic arts, hair dressing, hospitality management, interior design, journalism, plumbing, heating & air conditioning, veterinary technology and welding. Updated weekly. (EBSCOhost)
  • Computers & Applied Sciences Complete
    Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,720 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 670 periodicals. (EBSCOhost)
  • EBSCO eBook Collection
    EBSCO’s extensive collection of more than 265,000 eBook titles is now integrated on EBSCOhost. Answers to Frequently Asked Questions provided by EBSCOHost.
  • IEEE - All-Society Periodicals
    Provides full text access (1998 to present) to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE ASPP contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) publications.

Internet Resources

When selecting Internet resources it is important to evaluate the quality of any websites that you use. See the Student Development (SDV) Research Guide for instructions on evaluating websites.

  • FOLDOC- Free Online Dictionary of Computing
    Searchable dictionary of acronyms, operating systems, etc. From the Imperial College Department of Computing, London
  • Webopedia
    Online Computer Dictionary for Internet Terms and Technical Support. Includes a pronunciation guide (e.g. MySQL is pronounced: my ess Q L.)
  • ipl2: Information You Can Trust
    The Internet Public Library: Internet websites that have been reviewed by librarians.
  • Pew Internet
    Reports that explore the impact of the internet on families, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and political life. From the Pew Research Center, a nonprofit, nonpartisan “fact tank.” (perhaps some good material for a speech…)

Other Resources

  • Atomic Learning
    Provides short, mini-tutorials for learning about many different software programs (Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Google apps, Photoshop, iMovie,etc.). Free to all RCC students and their families. Requires Quicktime on your computer for video tutorials.
  • Coursecasts
    Podcasts that help with learning many technology applications.
  • iTunes U
    Connect with RCC through iTunes University. Keep Learning everywhere.

Glenns Campus 12745 College Drive Glenns, VA 23149

Warsaw Campus 52 Campus Drive Warsaw, VA 22572

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip