This is the "Native American Heritage Week 2015" page of the "Native American Heritage" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Native American Heritage   Tags: subject guides  

A guide to web and RCC Library resources on Native American heritage.
Last Updated: Oct 29, 2015 URL: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/nativeamericanheritage Print Guide RSS Updates
Native American Heritage Week 2015 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Virginia Tribes

Virginia's 11 officially recognized tribes today:

  • Chickahominy - Charles City County
  • Eastern Chickahominy - New Kent County 
  • Mattaponi - Mattaponi River/King William County 
  • Upper Mataponi - King William County 
  • Nansemond - Cities of Suffolk and Chesapeake 
  • Rappahannock - Indian Neck/King & Queen County 
  • Monacan Indian Nation - Bear Mountain/Amherst County 
  • Pamunkey - Pamunkey River/King William County 
  • Cheroenhaka (Nottoway) - Courtland/Southampton County
  • Nottoway of Virginia - Capron/Southampton County
  • Patowomeck - Stafford County

from virginia.org

On the Web

 

Guide Credit

Guide originially created by Glenns Library Assistant: Natalie Browning, MLS.

Updated by Glenns Library Assistant Carrie Dos Santos, MIS.

 

Books in the Library

Find books and articles through the library's website. Use search words such as: Native American or Virginia Indian.

Is the book you want not at your home campus library? Don't worry; we can transfer books between campuses.

Cover Art
We're Still Here: Contemporary Virginia Indians Tell Their Stories
Call Number: E78.V7 W38 2006
Available at the Glenns and Warsaw Libraries

Cover Art
The Virginia Indian Heritage Trail
Call Number: E78.V7 V56 2009
Available at the Glenns and Warsaw Libraries

Cover Art
Native American Religion
Call Number: E98.R3 M335 1999
Available at the Glenns Library

Cover Art
Linguistic Ideologies of Native American Language Revitalization
Call Number: eBook
Sign in with your myRCC account information to access this eBook.

Cover Art
Indian Story and Song from North America
Call Number: eBook
Sign in with your myRCC account information to access this eBook.

 

Sustaining Native American Tradition

Library Databases

  • America: History and Life
    Complete bibliographic database to over 2,000 journals that cover the United States and Canada prehistory to the present. In addition to articles, this extensive database includes approximately 6,000 citations of book and media reviews, and citations of abstracts of dissertations published in the field. (EBSCOHost)
  • American History in Video
    American History in Video provides the largest and richest collection of video available online for the study of American history, with 2,000 hours and more than 5,000 titles on completion. The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. (Alexander Street Press)
  • EBSCOhost
    Use EBSCOhost's main menu to choose from a variety of article databases. (EBSCOhost)
  • Facts on File - Issues and Controversies
    Presents and enhances the full backfile of Issues and Controversies On File, which has probed about 600 controversial topics in the news since its debut in September 1995. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events.
  • Films on Demand  Icon  Icon
    Use the link provided on your college library page for access to 5,000+ streaming educational videos provided by the Films Media Group. Watch from anywhere you have Internet service, 24 hours a day.
  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research (Gale)
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts  
      
    Assists both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of the latest developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. Abstracts are drawn from approximately 2,000 serials published worldwide complemented with coverage of recent books, occasional papers, monographs, technical reports, and dissertations. (Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)

Glenns Campus 12745 College Drive Glenns, VA 23149

Warsaw Campus 52 Campus Drive Warsaw, VA 22572

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip