This is the "Psychology" page of the "Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Psychology   Tags: subject guides  

Last Updated: Apr 28, 2016 URL: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/psychology Print Guide RSS Updates
Psychology Print Page
  Search: 
 

Searching the Library

Use These Keywords to Search in the Library Catalog:

psychology

psychologist

type of psychology

condition name

drug name

psychologist name

psychopathy

psychological treatment

And Use These Topics to Create Keywords:

[treatment name]

[psychological terms]

[psychological conditions]

Look for These Call Numbers on the Library Shelves:

BF: General Psychology

BF 173.175.5: Psychoanalysis

BF 176-176.5: Psychotropic drugs and other substances

BF 712-724.85: Developmental Psychology

RC 435-571: Psychiatry

  • RCC Library's Quicksearch
    Use this link to quickly search the library's printed and online resources. Printed books, ebooks, audiobooks, streaming videos and more are available!
  • Oxford Reference Online Premium
    Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford, including titles in Oxford Companions Series. All books are cross-searchable. (Oxford University Press)
 

Program Description

Psychology is an academic and applied discipline that involves the scientific study of mental functions and behaviors. Psychology has the immediate goal of understanding individuals and groups by both establishing general principles and researching specific cases,and by many accounts it ultimately aims to benefit society. Practioners of psychology, or psychologists, attempt to understand the role of mental functions in individual and social behavior, while also exploring the physiological and biological processes that underlie cognitive functions and behaviors.

Photo Credit: http://bit.ly/1LYKytq

Courses Include:

Principles of Psychology, Developmental Psychology, Abnormal Psychology, Child Psychology, Health Psychology, Psychology of Human Sexuality

See Course Calendar for full list of Psychology courses.

Databases

Check out all of our eResources on our eResources A to Z Lib Guide: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/az2016

  • APA PsycNET
    Provides access to the psychology and behavioral science databases PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES and PsycBOOKS.
  • Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
    Provides nearly 575 full text publications, including nearly 550 peer-reviewed titles. Covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. Nearly every full text title included in this database is indexed in PsycINFO. (EBSCOhost)
  • OVID - Your Journals @ OVID  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Collection of about 280 full-text medical, nursing, psychological, and scientific journals.
  • Springer Science eBooks
    E-books on behavioral sciences, biomedical and life science, computer science, and earth and environmental science topics. (Springer)
  • Family Studies Abstracts
    With bibliographic records covering topics like marriage, divorce and family therapy, Family Studies Abstracts is an excellent source for researchers interested in learning more about the many facets of this discipline. Scholars within this field are treated to a wide array of unique content, as well as highly regarded works made popular in the realm of family studies. (EBSCOhost)

Internet Resources

When selecting Internet resources it is important to evaluate the quality of any websites that you use. See the Student Development (SDV) Research Guide for instructions on evaluating websites.

  • American Psychological Association
    The American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychologists in the United States.

  • Social Psychology Network
    Web site devoted to psychological research and teaching
  • National Institute of Mental Health
    Part of the National Institutes of Health, the NIMH is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders. Provides access to educational resources, statistics, and ongoing research.
 

Guide Credit

Guide originially created by Glenns Library Assistant: Natalie Browning, MLS.

Updated by Glenns Library Assistant Carrie Dos Santos, MIS.

Glenns Campus 12745 College Drive Glenns, VA 23149

Warsaw Campus 52 Campus Drive Warsaw, VA 22572

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip