This is the "Statistics" page of the "Statistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Statistics   Tags: subject guides math  

Find books, articles, and online resources valuable to research in the topic of Statistics.
Last Updated: May 3, 2016 URL: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/statistics Print Guide RSS Updates
Statistics Print Page
  Search: 
 

Searching the Library

Use These Keywords to Search in the Library Catalog:

statistics

probability

[topic name and statistics]

[statistical terms]

Look for These Call Numbers on the Library Shelves:

QA 1-939: Mathematics

QA 273-280: Probabilities, Mathematical Statistics

QA 801 -939: Analytic Mechanics

  • RCC Library's Quicksearch
    Use this link to quickly search the library's printed and online resources. Printed books, ebooks, audiobooks, streaming videos and more are available!
      
     

    Guide Credit

    Guide originially created by Glenns Library Assistant: Natalie Browning, MLS.

    Updated by Glenns Library Assistant Carrie Dos Santos, MIS.

     

    Description

    Statistics is a mathematical body of science that pertains to the collection, analysis, interpretation or explanation, and presentation of data,or as a branch of mathematics.Some consider statistics to be a distinct mathematical science rather than a branch of mathematics.
     

     morguefile free photo: http://mrg.bz/2FBBPd

    Courses Include:


    MTH 146: Introduction to Elementary Statistics

    MTH 240: Statistics

    See Course Catalog for full Description and other math courses.

    Databases

    Check out all of our eResources on our eResources A to Z Lib Guide: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/az2016

    • Dictionary of Statistics
      Oxford University Press (VIVA) Contains over 2000 entries on statistics, including computing, mathematical, operational research, and probability.
    • Science in Context  Icon  Icon
      Science in Context contains topic overviews, experiments, biographies, articles, links to quality Web sites, pictures, and illustrations in all areas of science, including biology, chemistry, physics, earth science, math, environmental science, life science, medicine, space science, computer science, technology, history of science, science and society, science as inquiry, science-related biographies, and more. (Gale)
    • ScienceDirect eBooks  Icon  Icon
      The ScienceDirect 2013 e-book collection offers the latest titles in science, technology, engineering, math, and key health science disciplines. (Elsevier)
    • eBook Library STEM-H Collection
      (VIVA) E-books from premier publishers in the STEM-H (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Health) fields. Access to these titles is the result of the 2013-14 VIVA demand-driven acquisitions (DDA) purchasing program. (EBL)

    Internet Resources

    When selecting Internet resources it is important to evaluate the quality of any websites that you use. See the Student Development (SDV) Research Guide for instructions on evaluating websites.

    • United Nations
      Issues on the international agenda such as children, drug control, food, population, refugees, etc.
    • American Fact Finder
      American FactFinder is your source for population, housing, economic and geographic information.
    • Data.gov
      Data.gov is the home of the US government’s open data. Here you will find over 85,000 datasets as well as the tools and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
    • FEDSTATS
      “One stop shopping” for statistical information including agencies of Agriculture, Crime, Demographics, Economic, Education, Energy, Environment, Health, Income, Labor, National Accounts, Natural Resources, Safety, and Transportation.
    • Virginia Statistics
      From the Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service at UVA
    • Hampton Roads Economic Development Alliance
      Provides statistics of the region nationally and internationally under the Hampton Roads banner.
    • American Mathematical Society
      Devoted to publishing research mathematics of high quality and significance in all areas of pure and applied mathematics. Each journal is unique in its offering of articles, book reviews, and reports. And each is managed by editors who are prominent in their fields. (American Mathematical Society)
    • KIDS COUNT Data Center
      A project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation, KIDS COUNT is the premier source for data on child and family well-being in the United States. Access hundreds of indicators, download data and create reports and graphics on the KIDS COUNT Data Center that support smart decisions about children and families.

    Glenns Campus 12745 College Drive Glenns, VA 23149

    Warsaw Campus 52 Campus Drive Warsaw, VA 22572

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip