An introduction to RCC Library resources and helpful information to get you through your SDV class.
Last Updated: Oct 29, 2015
Use These Keywords to Search in the Library Catalog:
Look for These Call Numbers on the Library Shelves:
LB: Study Skills
HF: Resume Writing
A comprehensive virtual library and reference tool for academic and scholarly Internet resources.
- ipl2: Information You Can Trust
The Internet Public Library: Internet websites that have been reviewed by librarians.
- Evaluating Websites Video
Watch as Library Coordinator, Dan Ream, explains how to evaluate websites
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics publishes this handbook annually to asses job growth, earnings, skills, and the likelihood of future growth. If you’re curious about job requirements and description this is a great informational tool.
- Virginia Education Wizard
Take a career assessment, use the Net Price Calculator and transfer planner. Set up your account free and visit often.
SDV 100: College Success Skills
Assists students in transition to colleges. Provides overviews of college policies, procedures, curricular offerings. Encourages contacts with other students and staff. Assists students toward college success through information regarding effective study habits, career and academic planning, and other college resources available to students. May include English and math placement testing. Strongly recommended for beginning students. Required for graduation.
morguefile free photo: http://mrg.bz/QixzCG
Learn to analyze websites by considering website credibility, author expertise, conflict of interest, and types of website advertising
Available through the Films on Demand database
Guide originially created by Glenns Library Assistant: Natalie Browning, MLS.
Updated by Glenns Library Assistant Carrie Dos Santos, MIS.
Use EBSCOhost's main menu to choose from a variety of article databases. (EBSCOhost)
- EBSCO eBook Collection
EBSCO’s extensive collection of more than 265,000 eBook titles is now integrated on EBSCOhost. Answers to Frequently Asked Questions
provided by EBSCOHost.
- Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary scholarly article database with 4,600+ peer-reviewed journals. (EBSCOhost)
- Oxford Reference Online Premium
Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford, including titles in Oxford Companions Series. All books are cross-searchable. (Oxford University Press)
With a business focus, Factiva is a product of Dow Jones that offers full text access to over 10,000 magazine, journals, leading local, national and international newspapers and news wires. It provides in-depth research on a company, industry or marketplace. In addition, about 3,000 images are added daily. Richmond Times Dispatch is covered from 1989. (Dow Jones & Company, Inc.)
- MasterFILE Premier
Multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,019 biographies, 105,787 full text primary source documents, and an Image Collection of 293,480 photos, maps and flags. (EBSCOhost)
- Learning Express
Gain knowledge in a variety of areas while taking skills assessments along the way! Designed for everyone including GED students, those seeking naturalization, and college students seeking job skills. Set up an account one time on campus then access anywhere.
- Films on Demand
Use the link provided on your college library page for access to 5,000+ streaming educational videos provided by the Films Media Group. Watch from anywhere you have Internet service, 24 hours a day.