This is the "Teacher Education" page of the "Teacher Education " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Teacher Education   Tags: subject guides  

Last Updated: May 4, 2016 URL: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/teachereducation Print Guide RSS Updates
Teacher Education Print Page
  Search: 
 

Searching the Library

Use These Keywords to Search in the Library Catalog:

education

education requirements

education licensure requirements

education testing

education testing prep guides

And Use These Topics to Create Keywords:

  [education type]

  [education program name]

Look for These Call Numbers on the Library Shelves:

L: General Education

LA: Education History

LB: Education, Theory and Practice

LC: Aspects of Education

LD: U.S. Institutions of Education

  • RCC Library's Quicksearch
    Use this link to quickly search the library's printed and online resources. Printed books, ebooks, audiobooks, streaming videos and more are available!
      
     

    Program Description

    The General Education Certificate is designed to provide students working for the AA&S transfer degree with an academic credential recognizing their completion of a specific course of study that leads to their chosen degree.

    The Associate of Arts and Sciences Transfer Degree: Teacher Education Specialization (Pre-K-8) program is designed for students who are interested in teaching, specifically in grades pre-kindergarten through 8, to prepare them for the academic field in which they will be working. They will also have the courses required by numerous four-year institutions in Virginia for entrance into colleges of education. Students pursuing this specialization would attain requisite coursework for university programs, and, in part, for teacher licensure in Virginia for elementary and middle school levels.

    morguefile free photo: http://mrg.bz/WCj7d3

    Courses Include:

    EDU 195: Topics in Education

    EDU 200: Introduction to Teaching as a Profession

    EDU 235: Health, Safety, & Nutrition Education

    EDU 254: Teaching Basic Academic Skills to Exceptional Children

    EDU 280: Technology Standards for Teachers

    See course catalog for full list of courses.

    Databases

    Check out all of our eResources on our eResources A to Z Lib Guide: http://rappahannock.vccs.libguides.com/az2016

    • ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center  Icon
      (VIVA) Education Resources
    • Teacher Reference Center  
        
      Indexes over 260 titles from popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals, and books. Provides coverage on topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, etc. (EBSCOhost)
    • Child Development & Adolescent Studies
      This database is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21. (EBSCOhost)
    • CQ Researcher  Icon
      CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues 1923-present, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. (CQPress)
    • Gale Virtual Reference Library
      Database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research (Gale)

    Internet Resources

    When selecting Internet resources it is important to evaluate the quality of any websites that you use. See the Student Development (SDV) Research Guide for instructions on evaluating websites.

    • U.S. Department of Education
      Provides information on national-level education initiatives and resources for educators, students, & families.
    • Virginia Department of Education
      Provides information and resources specifically for Virginia teachers, students, and families. Includes information about teacher licensure & career resources.
    • Virginia Education Association
      Statewide association of teachers and education professionals. Provides educational resources for teachers and families.
    • Education News
      A comprehensive site for news regarding education both domestically and abroad.
    • RAND Education
      A compilation of statistics and other information on schools in the U.S
    • ETS's Praxis tests
      ETS’s website all about the Praxis Exams.
     

    Guide Credit

    Guide originially created by Glenns Library Assistant: Natalie Browning, MLS.

    Updated by Glenns Library Assistant Carrie Dos Santos, MIS.

    Glenns Campus 12745 College Drive Glenns, VA 23149

    Warsaw Campus 52 Campus Drive Warsaw, VA 22572

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip